Our Members of Council

John McKean, Mayor

phone: 519-599-3131 ext. 400 / 705-443-1843
mayor@thebluemountains.ca


Gail Ardiel , Deputy Mayor

phone: 519-599-3131 ext. 401 / 705-441-4089
gardiel@thebluemountains.ca


Robert Gamble, Councillor

phone: 519-599-3131 ext. 236
bgamble@thebluemountains.ca


Joe Halos, Councillor

phone: 519-599-3131 ext. 402 / 705-443-9991
jhalos@thebluemountains.ca


Michael Martin, Councillor

phone: 519-599-3131 ext. 251 / 519-375-1755
mmartin@thebluemountains.ca


John McGee, Councillor

phone: 519-599-3131 ext. 298 / 705-441-4992
jmcgee@thebluemountains.ca


Michael Seguin, Councillor

phone: 519-599-3131 ext. 297
mseguin@thebluemountains.ca

I am a University graduate in Urban and Economic Geography and a retired professional real estate appraiser with the AACI, P.App designation with the Appraisal Institute of Canada. Prior to retiring in 2011, I worked with many planners, administrators and legal representatives in various municipalities in the GTA, County of Simcoe and the Muskoka Region in appraising their property needs over a 30 year period. I have also completed appraisal assignments in the Grey Bruce Region and special assignments across Canada.

As a resident of The Blue Mountains for over 20 years, I have been active in the political arena over the past 10 years (2004-2014), representing the residents of Peel and Cameron Streets (close to 100 families in the Lora Bay Service Area) in many neighbourhood issues since 2004 and serving as President of the Blue Mountain Ratepayers’ Association (BMRA) for the past 6 years (since 2008), reaching out to over 1,500 ratepayers throughout The Blue Mountains via family and condo memberships.

As President of the BMRA, I have attended most (and participated at many) Council, Finance, Planning, Infrastructure, Recreation and Budget meetings over the past 6 years. I have also served as Editor of the Association’s quarterly Newsletter ‘The View from Blue’ since 2009, writing close to 100 articles and keeping ratepayers informed about important issues and newsworthy topics in The Blue Mountains.

I currently support and serve as a volunteer member of the Blue Mountains Community Policing Committee and as Secretary-Treasurer of The Blue Mountain Watershed Trust Foundation.